TCA Scholarship Fund Announces 2023-24 Recipients and Total Scholarship Awards of $141,000


48 Deserving Students with Truckload Industry Ties Awarded over $141,000 in TCA Scholarships

Alexandria, Virginia:

TCA Scholarship Fund Chairman, American Central Transport senior vice president, Bob Kretsinger, said “The TCA Scholarship Fund is thrilled to recognize the hard work and drive of the 2023-24 class of recipients. I am so grateful for the generous support and outreach of the TCA community who make this amazing TCA member benefit possible. We congratulate each of our 48 recipients and look forward to witnessing their future accomplishments!”

Since 1973, the Fund has been providing scholarships to students associated with the trucking industry. Each scholarship recipient must be a student in good standing attending a four-year college or university and must be associated with a TCA member company as an employee, independent contractor, or the child, grandchild, or spouse of an employee or independent contractor of a TCA member company.

“2023 marks the 50th anniversary of the Scholarship Fund’s creation; the longevity of the program is truly a testament to how strong our truckload community is and the great things we can accomplish when we work together. We are proud to continue to support these students as they fulfil their potential and become the next generation of leaders in the industry. Congratulations to the 2023-24 recipients! ” said TCA President, Jim Ward.

The application process was managed by the Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges (OFIC). A selection committee, established by OFIC, scored the applicants, taking into consideration the applicant’s GPA, major, extracurricular activities, hours worked, and more.

This school year, 10 high school seniors, 7 college freshmen, 17 college sophomores, and 14 college juniors were awarded scholarships totaling more than $140,000. Recipients span across the United States and Canada.

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients:

Connor Gates
Prime, Inc.
NAIT Scholarship – $6,250

Martina Tolhurst
Bison Transport
John Kaburick Scholarship – $4,500

Mallory Beamer
Dutch Maid Logistics
Kai Norris Scholarship – $3,250

Rajpreet Gill
Bison Transport
Darrel Clark Wilson III Scholarship – $3,250

Parker Litterick
Warren Transport, Inc.
Thomas Welby Scholarship – $3,250

Tristan Schelvan
Bison USA Transport
Stoney Reese Stubbs Scholarship – $3,250

Kelsey Fullenkamp
Whiteline Express
Robert Low Scholarship – $3,250

Gurjaan Rai
Bison Transport
Robert D. Penner Scholarship – $3,250

Jocelyn Calderon
Whiteline Express
Thomas R. Schilli Scholarship – $3,250

Nathan Gariepy
Load One
Thomas R. Schilli Scholarship – $3,250

Maxwell Marten
Marten Transport
Keith Tuttle Scholarship – $3,250

Carter Petit
Halvor Lines
Tom Kretsinger, Jr. Scholarship – $3,250

The following have been awarded $2,725 for the 2023-24 school year:

Toby Plattner – Nussbaum Transportation
Alexandra Wayne – Brown Trucking
Isabella Yust – Contract Freighters, Inc (CFI)
Emily Dudaitis – E&V Services, Inc.
Joshua Short – Cargo Transporters, Inc.
Speranza Albensi – Bison Transport
Kelsey McGaughey – PGT Trucking
Benjamin Niznik – Speedway / 7-Eleven
Courtney Street – Wilson Logistics
Katherine Adkins – Mast Trucking INC.
Jay Freeman – Werner
Amy Pitzel – Bison Transport
Jonathan Ritenour – Werner Enterprises
Kaden Buatte – Prime, Inc.
Robert Callahan – NFI Industries
Isabella McDaniel – Buchanan Hauling and Rigging
Chloe Smith – Barber Trucking Inc.
Vicktoria Adams – Prime Inc.
Sophia Boelter – Don Hummer Trucking
Catherine Cooper – Boyd Bros. Transportation
Madeline Falknor – Fremont Contract Carriers Inc.
Karson Macke – Baylor Trucking
Brianna Pointer – Prime Inc.
Theresa Stephens – Mcleod Software Co.
Jack Rogers – Don Hummer Trucking
Carson Snow – Crete Carrier
Benay Taylor – Prime Inc.
Gianna Terrarosa – Global Experience Specialists (GES)
Dylan Duffy – Transpro Freight Systems
Logan Gardner – Werner Enterprises
Haley Price – Fortune Transportation
Grace Rittenour – Thomas E. Keller Trucking
Samuel Amanual – Kriska Holdings
Kelsey DeMillo – Leonard’s Express
Annika Waltenberg – Ho Wolding
Shaylyn Young – Arlo G. Lott Trucking, Inc.

TCA congratulates this year’s recipients. To learn more about the TCA Scholarship Fund, or for information on how you can donate to the Past Chairmen’s Fund, visit