Betty Aragon and Bryan Smith Awarded as 2020 Driver of the Year Grand Prize Winners


2020 Company Driver of the Year: Betty Aragon of Wilson Logistics and 2020 Owner Operator of the Year: Bryan Smith of Tucker Freight Lines, Inc. wins prestigious contests

LAS VEGAS, Nevada:

On Tuesday evening, during the closing banquet at the Truckload Carriers Association’s Truckload 2021: Las Vegas, TCA and its partners, Overdrive and Truckers News, and its long-time sponsors, Cummins Inc. and Love’s Travel Stops, announced the winners of the 2020 Driver of the Year Contests.

The 2020 Company Driver of the Year award was presented to Betty Aragon of Tucumcari, New Mexico, who drives for Wilson Logistics based in Springfield, Missouri. The 2020 Owner Operator of the Year was presented to Bryan Smith of Asbury, Iowa, who is leased to Tucker Freight Lines, Inc. based in Dubuque, Iowa. Both drivers received a $25,000 cash prize for their achievements.

View photos from the awards presentation.

The annual contests, sponsored by Love’s Travel Stops of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and Cummins Inc. of Columbus, Indiana, recognize the top owner operators and company drivers in the U.S. and Canada who provide reliable and safe truck transportation in moving the nation’s goods.

Prior to the announcement, Love’s Travel Stops Vice President of Sales Jon Archard said of the company driver finalists, “This year carries special meaning. While most us of in the room weathered the pandemic remotely, our nation’s truck drivers could not. Tonight, we will showcase a select few of these drivers, who proved to the nation what we in the industry already knew…That truck drivers are critical to our economy and essential to our collective well-being.”

Betty Aragon is the exception to several rules. She was a single mom with two sons when she started driving at the age of 30. She retired from trucking at the age of 65, only to resume her driving career because she missed trucking. As now, at age 74, she has logged more than 44 years on the road, and has no plan to stop driving anytime soon. 

“I remember when we brought Betty in, and she’s been a jewel ever since,” said Wilson Logistics’ President and CEO Darrel Wilson. “My whole family loves Betty. My children. My wife. She’s part of the family. She’s a genuine person that always puts people first.” 

Cummins Inc. Vice President of Sales Amy Boerger said of the owner operator finalists, “We owe these men and women our gratitude. Without these professionals the American economy would come to a halt.”

Bryan has been hauling in some form or fashion with Tucker Freight Lines (formerly Art Pape Transfer) for nearly 29 of his almost 31 years in trucking. Aside from his list of accomplishments, the 2020 contest marks his fifth time being recognized as a Driver of the Year finalist. 

“Bryan is an excellent example for all drivers and the type of driver that should be recognized if our industry hopes to change its image,” said President & CEO AJ Tucker. “He has established balance in his life most truck drivers would envy.  When on the road, Bryan exhibits the highest degree of professionalism and courteousness. There is not a better choice for Owner Operator of the Year than Bryan Smith.”

Each of the runners-up in both categories received checks for $2,500:

  • Glen Horack of Elkland, Missouri who is leased to Prime Inc. based in Springfield, Missouri;
  • Douglas Schildgen of Waterloo, Iowa, who is leased to Warren Transport, Inc., also based in Waterloo, Iowa; and
  • Dennis Cravener of Virginia Beach, Virginia, who drives for Givens Transportation based in Chesapeake, Virginia.

To learn more about the contests or to nominate a deserving driver for the 2021 competition, visit