Dave Williams Named 2023-24 Chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association


Knight-Swift Transportation’s Dave Williams Named
2023-24 Chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association


The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) has selected Knight-Swift Transportation’s Senior Vice President of Equipment and Government Relations, Dave Williams to be its 2023-24 Chairman. Dave gave his acceptance speech on Tuesday, March 7, during the closing banquet at TCA’s Annual Convention in Orlando and received a standing ovation.

Williams, who resides in Glendale, Arizona with his wife, Suzi, has been with Knight-Swift for 28 years. During his time at Knight-Swift, he has held many positions with both national and state trucking groups. He has served as Chairman and a member of the Board of Directors and Executive Committee for the Arizona Trucking Association, he has chaired multiple Policy committees for the Truckload Carriers Association and the American Trucking Association, including ATA’s Emissions Task Force and both TCA and ATA’s respective Highway Policy Committees.

During his acceptance speech, Dave highlighted the importance of continued focus on advocating for our members in Washington, DC; doing more to advocate for our professional drivers; increasing the rewards for investing in trucking; focusing on the environment while pushing back on unrealistic timelines; and becoming more self-governing when it comes to Safety in our industry.

Dave holds a Bachelor of Science from Arizona State University. He and Suzi have been married for 27 years and have four children; Mallory, Ely, Gracie, and Ryan.

Knight-Swift Transportation, a 33-year TCA member, is the industry’s largest full truckload company; operating an extensive fleet of roughly 19,000 tractors, 58,000 trailers and employing 24,000 people. Headquartered in Phoenix, Arizona, Knight-Swift provides a full complement of truckload and logistics services throughout the US, Mexico, and Canada.


The following individuals will assist Williams as TCA’s officers:


1st Vice Chairman

Karen Smerchek – Veriha Trucking. Inc.

2nd Vice Chairman

Jon Coca – Diamond Transportation System, Inc.


Mark Seymour- Kriska Transportation Group


John Culp – Maverick USA, Inc.

Vice President to ATA

Ed Nagle III – Nagle Companies

Immediate Past Chairman

John Elliott – Load One, LLC

Officer At-Large

Adam Blanchard- Double Diamond Transport

Officer At-Large

Amber Edmonson – Trailiner Corporation

Officer At-Large

Pete Hill – Hill Brothers Transportation, Inc.

Officer At-Large

Joey Hogan – Covenant Transport

Officer At-Large

Trevor Kurtz- Brian Kurtz Trucking, LTD