Michael Frolick of TransPro Freight Systems Named 2023 Safety Professional of the Year



The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) has awarded TransPro Freight Systems’ Director of Safety, Michael Frolick, as its 2023 TCA Safety Professional of the Year Award winner. The announcement was made during TCA’s 42nd Annual Safety & Security Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

This honor is bestowed upon a trucking industry professional whose actions and achievements have made a profound contribution to enhancing safety on North America’s highways.

Michael started working on the docks part time while in high school in his teenage years. When he turned 19, he obtained his Class A Commercial License. He drove for 22 years in both Canada and the USA. All the while amassing 1.5 million collision free over the road miles. Near the end of his driving career, he started helping to do log books, road evaluations and forklift training with his company. Before he left, Michael became the Toronto Regional Truck Driving Grand Champion.

From there he became the safety manager for a local cartage company, before moving onto TransPro Freight Systems where he has been Director of Safety & Compliance for the last 16 years. Michael has played key roles in numerous councils and committees over the years and currently is on the Board of Directors Executive Committee for the Infrastructure Health & Safety Association.

Through his outstanding leadership and unwavering commitment to safety, Michael has left a lasting impact on the transportation industry, ensuring the well-being of drivers and promoting a culture of safety within organizations.

“We at KTG, and specifically TransPro are extremely proud of Mike and for his accomplishment.” said Kriska Transportation Group President & CEO Mark Seymour “Mike epitomizes what this recognition highlights. His loyalty and commitment to the craft has been unwavering for years. We consider ourselves winners too as we have Mike on our team. Congratulations Mike.”

“TCA is delighted that Michael Frolick is our 2023 Safety Professional of the Year” said TCA President Jim Ward. “He represents exactly what safety in trucking should be – well-rounded and forward-thinking approaches to driver training and coaching, equipped with a reservoir of experience and insight. This award is a great reminder to thank all of our industry’s safety professionals, like Michael, who work tirelessly to protect the wellbeing of drivers on our roadways.”