TCA Members Honored for Longevity


Las Vegas, Nevada:

This morning, Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) recognized 19 of its members as part of an Ambassador Club ceremony honoring the longevity of the companies with the organization. Five of the companies were inductees, while the other 14 were recognized for reaching milestones in their membership tenures. The ceremony took place at TCA’s Annual Convention, which is being held from February 28-March 3, 2010, at the Wynn Las Vegas in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Three companies reached the 50-year mark: Schilli Transportation Services of Remington, Indiana; Apgar Bros., Inc., of Bound Brook, New Jersey; and Online Transport, Inc., of Greenfield, Indiana. These members received a crystal globe recognizing their long-time commitment to TCA.

New inductees and companies that moved up to the next level within the Ambassador Club received handsome plaques. RJW, Inc./Bestway Systems, Inc., of Independence, Ohio, was the senior member of this group, moving up to the category of 60 years of TCA membership.

“Our 2010 honorees have traveled a long road with TCA. Over the years, the knowledge and experience they have shared has been of great benefit to the industry, and helped to define our organization,” said Kevin Burch, TCA’s chairman and president of Jet Express, Inc., of Dayton, Ohio. “Their loyalty and commitment is very rare and should be applauded.”

TCA established its prestigious Ambassador Club in 1996 as a way to honor companies that maintain memberships with the organization for 25 years or longer. After their induction, companies are honored every 5 years for their ongoing commitment to TCA and their industry. Special recognition is bestowed when a company reaches the 50- or 75-year mark.

With the addition of the five newest inductees, there are now a total of 73 companies in TCA’s Ambassador Club. The 2010 honorees are as follows:

60 years     RJW, Inc./Bestway Systems, Inc., Independence, Ohio

Jeffrey Wenham, Chief Executive Officer

50 years     Schilli Transportation Services, Remington, Indiana

Thomas Schilli, President

50 years     Apgar Bros., Inc., Bound Brook, New Jersey

Matthew Wright, President & CEO

50 years     Online Transport, Inc., Greenfield, Indiana

Dan Cook, President

40 years     Melton Truck Lines, Inc., Tulsa, Oklahoma

Robert Peterson, President

40 years     Witte Brothers Exchange, Troy, Missouri

Brent Witte, President

40 years     Dart Transit Company, Eagan, Minnesota

Donald Oren, Chairman

35 years     W.S. Thomas Transfer, Inc., Fairmont, West Virginia

Robert Thompson, President & CEO

30 years     Mill Corporation, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Bernard Newman, Sr., President

30 years     K and J Trucking, Inc., Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Michelle Koch, President

30 years     Service Trucking, Inc., Eustis, Florida

Daniel Baugh, President

30 years     deBoer, Inc., Blenker, Wisconsin

Ronald deBoer, Chairman

30 years     American Spirit Transport, Inc., Darien, Wisconsin

Shawn Kemmer, President

30 years     P.A.M. Transportation Services, Inc., Tontitown, Arkansas

Robert Weaver, President & CEO

25 years     Rand McNally & Company, Skokie, Illinois

Mason Meadows, Director of Commercial Transportation

25 years     Badger Utility, Inc., Madison, Wisconsin

Richard Bloomquist, President

25 years     BDR Transport, Inc., Westminster, Vermont

Gregory Gay, President

25 years     Kennesaw Transportation, Inc., White, Georgia

C.W. Patrick, President

25 years     Dutch Maid Logistics, Willard, Ohio

Sam Burrer, Operations Manager