Truckload Carriers Association, Overdrive, and Truckers News Proudly Announce 2021 Driver of the Year Finalists


Top company drivers and owner operators to compete for prestigious title in March

ALEXANDRIA, Virginia and TUSCALOOSA, Alabama:

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA), Overdrive, and Truckers News are proud to announce the finalists for its 2021 Driver of the Year Contests which recognize both company drivers and owner operators who provide reliable transportation of North America’s goods.

The finalists and grand prize winners are selected based on their ability to operate safely on public highways, their efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry, and their positive contributions to the communities in which they live.

Thanks to the program’s long-time sponsors, Cummins Inc. and Love’s Travel Stops, each overall winner will receive $25,000, while the two runners-up in each division will win $2,500.

“TCA is the voice of truckload, and we are committed to educating the public on the collective accomplishments of our industry,” said TCA Chairman and Incoming President Jim Ward. “It is imperative that we recognize and positively promote the remarkable achievements of our essential workers – those who set the bar for the rest of our industry.”

To be eligible for the contests, company driver nominees were required to meet strict standards, such as driving one million consecutive accident-free miles. Judges examined each driver’s operating information, work history, and safety record, as well as reviewed three 300-word essays, or video testimonials, explaining why each nominee is a “good trucking citizen,” “how they stay healthy while on the road,” and “why they should be the next Driver of the Year.”

For the owner operator candidates, judges also reviewed equipment specifications, lengthy business plans, and robust financial statements.

Without further ado:

2021 Company Driver of the Year Contest finalists:

  • Robert Cole of Spring, Texas, who drives for Ryder System, Inc. based in Miami, Florida;
  • Denny Cravener of Virginia Beach, Virginia, who drives for Givens Transportation based in Chesapeake, Virginia; and
  • Robert Howell of Shelley, Idaho, who drives for Doug Andrus Distributing LLC based in Idaho Falls, Idaho.

2021 Owner Operator of the Year Contest finalists:

  • Glen Horack of Elkland, Missouri who is leased to Prime Inc. based in Springfield, Missouri;
  • Gene Houchin of Shenandoah, Iowa who is leased to Midwest Express, LLC based in Grand Island, Nebraska; and
  • Allen and Sandy Smith of Oak Hill, West Virginia, who is leased to National Carriers, Inc. based in Irving, Texas.

The names of the grand prize winners will be announced at Truckload 2022: Las Vegas at the Wynn Las Vegas, March 19-22, 2022. For more information about the Driver of the Year Contests and their sponsors, visit

To keep up with our finalists and to learn of the grand prize winners, follow @TCANews on Twitter, and social media networks.