Truckload Carriers Association Recognizes Fleet Safety Excellence


North America’s safety fleets honored

Alexandria, Virginia:

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) is pleased to announce the division winners for its 2014 National Fleet Safety Awards, the highest safety honor a carrier can earn each year. Over the past four decades, the award winners have been selected based on achieving the lowest ratio of accidents to total fleet mileage during a 12-month period.

Recognizing that safety is a critical issue for all highway users, TCA works tirelessly to improve highway safety by offering its member companies opportunities to share best safety practices, and to be honored for their commitment to safety.

“The TCA National Fleet Safety Award is a great program that annually recognizes the safest carriers on the road,” said Dustin England, chairman of TCA’s Safety & Security Division and the vice president of safety/compliance for C.R. England, based in Salt Lake City, Utah. “Year after year, the program promotes the safe driving standards of our industry and sets the safety performance bar for all carriers to strive for.”

To be considered for the awards, members submit an online application detailing their accident ratio during the eligibility period. Based on these ratios, carriers placing first, second, and third in each of six mileage-based divisions (listed below) are honored.

These 18 division winners are subject to an audit for ratio accuracy and invited to compete for one of two grand prizes – one for carriers with annual mileage of 25 million or fewer miles, and another for carriers with annual mileage of more than 25 million miles.

To be selected for a grand prize, the division winners are judged on their overall safety programs, both on- and off-highway, including operator selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, as well as outside activities including general highway safety.

The division winners and grand prize recipients will be recognized at an award ceremony to be held during TCA’s Annual Convention, March 8-11, 2015, at the Gaylord Palms in Kissimmee, Florida. They will also be recognized during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting, May 3-5, 2015, at the Charlotte Westin in Charlotte, North Carolina. Be sure to use the hashtags #2015TCA (TCA’s Annual Convention) and #TCASafety15 on social media networks.

As a partner in encouraging safe fleet operations, Great West Casualty Company generously sponsors the National Fleet Safety Award program.

Below are the names of the 2014 top divisional winners based on low accident frequency ratios per million miles. Companies are listed according to the order that they placed within each category.

Division I – (Under 5 Million Miles)

  1. Rocha Transportation, Ceres, California
  2. FTC Transportation, Inc., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  3. Specialty Transport, Inc., Knoxville, Tennessee

Division II – (5-14.99 Million Miles)

  1. Pemberton Truck Lines, Inc., Knoxville, Tennessee
  2. MacKinnon Transport Inc., Guelph, Ontario
  3. Britton Transport, Grand Forks, North Dakota

Division III – (15-24.99 Million Miles)

  1. B.R. Williams Trucking, Inc., Oxford, Alabama
  2. Don Hummer Trucking, Oxford, Iowa
  3. Tennant Truck Lines, Inc., Colona, Illinois

Division IV – (25-49.99 Million Miles)

  1. Wil-Trans, Strafford, Missouri
  2. Erb International Inc., New Hamburg, Ontario
  3. Trans-West Logistics, Lachine, Quebec

Division V – (50-99.99 Million Miles)

  1. Groupe Robert Inc. / Robert Transport, Rougemont, Quebec
  2. May Trucking Company, Salem, Oregon
  3. G&P Trucking Company, Inc., Gaston, South Carolina

Division VI – (100+ Million Miles)

  1. Bison Transport, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  2. Roehl Transport Inc., Marshfield, Wisconsin
  3. Interstate Distributor Company, Tacoma, Washington