Past Chairmen’s Fund

Help to Honor TCA's Former Leaders

In 2013, while visiting TCA’s headquarters, Mark Kessler, chief strategy officer at PeopleNet, saw old photographs of the association’s former leaders. He then attended TCA’s 75th Annual Convention, where he watched a historical slideshow about the people who had led the group over the years. Kessler concluded that something had to be done to honor TCA’s past chairmen.

“I realized that these guys brought us through so much – from regulation in 1936, to deregulation in 1980, to the complex lobbying efforts and technical issues that we face today in our industry,” said Kessler. “I thought it was only right that we honor these hard-working individuals with a lasting tribute – a scholarship in each of their names.”

In order for a TCA Past Chairman to have a fully-endowed scholarship named after him, his Past Chairmen’s Fund is required to receive $50,000 in donations. There are currently three scholarships named after past TCA Chairmen:

John Kaburick Scholarship


Robert Low Scholarship


Kai Norris Scholarship


Robert D. Penner Scholarship